But there’s a reason so many people commit to finding their retinol serum of choice: It has a host of aesthetic benefits such as decreased breakouts, improved collagen production, reduced fine lines, eased dark spots, more even tone, and faster skin cell turnover. That’s a lot of claims: Read all about the benefits here, which include the science to back it up. And if you find yourself on this retinol journey—determined to find your perfect match—we collected our all-time favorites that can treat a wide spectrum of goals. What users say: As this first-time retinol user notes, this serum is her gateway to brighter skin: “I love this retinol. It’s my first time truly using a retinol consistently. It’s very gentle, and I wake up totally glowing. It’s not irritating, but I do suggest going heavier on the moisturizer after. Seriously, this product is great and I love it!” What users say: Not only can retinol help reduce breakouts, but it may help ease the appearance of scarring thanks to its ability to encourage skin cell turnover. As one user notes, “My holy grail! Before this product my skin was pretty damaged from the past, with scarring and redness. After using this product for 3 months my acne, scaring, and redness have drastically decreased. I also never got purging in the beginning, which is a freaking miracle because my skin is very sensitive and reactive.” However, acne scarring is a very complicated thing to treat depending on the severity, so it may not work for all folks.  What users say: Even though this formula is extremely gentle, still proceed with caution as you fold it into your routine. With time, you may even be able to work your way up to nightly use, like this user: “I have super sensitive skin and my last foray into retinol was a disaster. My dermatologist encouraged me to try again and go slower. This product has not irritated my skin at all! I started out as recommended—just a few days a week and now I use it every day. Highly recommend this product if you are curious about retinol and have irritable skin like me.” What users say: Lots of users note that this serum has helped their skin appear smooth: “My skin looks good for my age. I have no tiny wrinkles at 68.” Not only does it help with fine lines, but this reviewer says it’s helped address crepey skin. “I have mature skin. This serum has been gentle, and has provided a really nice moisturizing and smoothing effect. My concealer goes on so much better because of that. If you deal with dry skin and crepiness, you’ll like this stuff.” What users say: This helped with tone and brightness so well that one user even decided to forgo makeup: “At 65 years young I’ve tried many anti-aging serums. January Labs is the absolute best. I love being able to go without makeup if I want. My skin tone is a lot more even since I’ve been using it for the past two years. I highly recommend using the triple active reclaiming serum. It’s great for all skin types.” What users say: Even the M.D.s behind the hit channel Doctorly endorse this product, to which one user took their advice: “I saw an episode of Doctorly on YouTube and the doctors recommended this retinol product for controlling acne and to stave off fine lines. I immediately purchased, and it’s excellent. I have been using it now for 2 months and definitely notice an improvement in my skin texture. It doesn’t cause me to break out, and it’s really affordable.” What users say: Users definitely note how soothing this is for dry, reactive skin—just be patient: “I have sensitive skin and other retinols have been too intense for me. But this product feels so gentle yet effective. Took a bit to start seeing results but after a few weeks of consistently using it each night I saw my skin become more hydrated, balanced, smoother and generally healthier looking.” What users say: Due to the high dosage of retinol, it’s hard to avoid a reaction stage, but once you’re through it you’ll see major results: “I started slow as instructed and definitely had some noticeable peeling after the first few uses, but now my skin looks 10 years younger. Totally changed the texture, which is now dewy and smooth. My wrinkles have significantly decreased, tone has evened, old discoloration from tanning gone, and totally clear from breakouts. It’s also even made my rosacea less red/noticeable. I love this product and couldn’t recommend it more highly!”

The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 28The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 78The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 35The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 15The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 11The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 45The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 53The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 28The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 9The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 52The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 8The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 55The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 12The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 7The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 5The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 4The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 15The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 60The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 81The 8 Best Retinol Serums Of 2023 Editor Approved - 86